blank LMU Munich Faculty for Chemistry and Pharmacy

Prof. Dr. Oliver Trapp

Prof. Dr. Oliver Trapp
Department Chemie
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Butenandtstr. 5-13, Haus F
81377 München
Office +49 (0)89 2180-77716 (Secretary Mrs. Hildegard Lipfert)
Phone +49 (0)89 2180-77461
Fax +49 (0)89 2180-77717
Room-Nr. F3.030

Short CV

Born in 1973
1993-1998 Undergraduate and graduate studies in Chemistry at the Eberhard-Karls-University Tübingen
1998 Diploma in Chemistry and Diploma-Thesis with Prof. Dr. V. Schurig, Institute of Organic Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-University Tübingen
1998-2001 Fellow in the DFG Graduate College 'Chemistry in Interphases' at the University of Tübingen
2001 PhD and Dissertation with Prof. Dr. V. Schurig, Institute of Organic Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-University Tübingen
2002-2004 Postdoctoral Fellow in the Group of Prof. Dr. R.N. Zare, Department of Chemistry, Stanford University, California, USA.
2004-2008 Emmy Noether Research Group Leader at the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung
2008-2016 Professor of Organic Chemistry (W3) at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
2009 Habilitation at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum
2012-2015 Department Chair of the Organisch-Chemisches Institut at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
2015-2016 Project and Scientific Manager of the Catalysis Research Laboratory (CaRLa)
Since 2015 Scientific Coordinator of the Heidelberg Initiative for the Origins of Life
Since 2015 Max-Planck-Fellow of the Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy

Since 2016 Professor of Organic Chemistry (W3) at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Awards and Fellowships

1992 1st Prize in Chemistry at the 27th German National Science Fair 1992
1992 Prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG) for an interdisciplinary research project
1992 1st Prize at the 4th European Community Contest for Young Scientists
1993 European Community Young Scientists Student Exchange Award to the 44th International Science and Engineering Fair
1999-2001 Doctorate scholarship of the Funds of the Chemical Industry (FCI)
2001 Attempto University Prize for the Best Dissertation of the Faculty of Chemistry, Pharmacy and Biochemistry
2001 Procter&Gamble Innovation Prize for the best dissertation of the Faculty of Chemistry in 2001
2002 Emmy-Noether-Fellowship of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2003 Prize of the Analytical Chemistry Division of the German Chemical Society (GDCh)
2005 Emmy Noether Research Group of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2007 Thieme Journal Award
2007 Research Grant Award of the Merck Research Laboratories
2008 Member of the Young College of the Northrhine Westphalian Academy of Sciences
2008 ADUC-Prize of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) for the Best Habilitation Thesis
2008 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Award of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2008 Innovation Award 2008 of the Northrhine-Westphalian Ministry of Innovations
2009 Annual Award of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg for Outstanding Achievements in Research
2010 HTC-11 Award
2010 ERC Starting Grant
2011 Capital Junge Elite "4 times 40 under 40"
2012 ERC Proof of Concept
2013 Capital Junge Elite "4 times 40 under 40"
2015 Max-Planck-Fellow

2017 Holger Erdtman Lecture, KTH - Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden

Committees & Advisory Boards

2010 Founder of Trapp ChemTech GmbH & Co. KG
2010 Member of the Organizing Committee in Chemistry of the German-American Frontiers of Science Symposia
(Alexander von Humboldt Foundation & National Academy of Sciences)
2010 Organizer and Scientific Advisory Board of the International Workshop on Mathematics in Chemical Kinetics and Engineering 2011
2011 Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal ELECTROPHORESIS
2011 Member of the Editorial Board of the Journal Chirality
2014 Federal jury member in Chemistry of Jugend forscht (German National Science Fair)
2015 Member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the ACS Journal Analytical Chemistry

2015 Member of the International Executive Scientific Committee of the International Conferences on Chirality

Research Interests

  • Design and synthesis of self-amplifying enantioselective catalysts
  • Design and synthesis of stereochemically flexible ligands and catalysts and investigation of their properties
  • Prebiotic chemistry
  • Development of novel multiplexing techniques for high-throughput analysis of catalytic reactions
  • Development of on-column reaction chromatography and electrophoresis
  • High-throughput screening of catalysts
  • High-throughput determination of kinetic and thermodynamic parameters of catalyzed reactions
  • Synthesis of novel (enantioselective) catalysts and ligands
  • Noble metal nanoparticles
  • Synthesis of (chiral) stationary phases for chromatographic separation
  • Synthesis and immobilization of supramolecular compounds
  • Enantioselective dynamic chromatography
  • Development of direct calculation methods for dynamic chromatography
  • Development of software tools: DCXplorer, RCXplorer, ChromWin