blank LMU Munich Faculty for Chemistry and Pharmacy


Merkel Lab Munich


+49 89 2180



Prof. Dr. Olivia Merkel - 77025 olivia.merkel@cup.

Postdoctoral Associates:

Dr. Benjamin Winkeljann - 77024 benjamin.winkeljann@cup.
Dr. Simone Carneiro - 72442 simone.carneiro@cup.

PhD Students:

Natascha Hartl - 77079 natascha.hartl@cup.
Lorenz Isert - 77079 loisph@cup.
Bettina (Schwarz) Gabold - 77203
Domizia Baldassi - 77197 domizia.baldassi@cup.
Christoph Zimmermann - 77101 christoph.zimmermann@cup.
Yao Jin - 77151 yao.jin@cup.
Lea-Adriana Keller +49 621 589 1853 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Kate Kutsenok - 77151 kate.kutsenok@cup.
Siyu Chen - 77028 siyu.chen@cup.
David Keul - 77027 david.keul@cup.
Fabian Volk - 77203 Fabian.Volk@cup.
Lennart Brack +49 621 589 1853 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Antonietta Greco - 77127 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Gemma Conte - 77178 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Gabriele Loiudice - 77028 gabriele.loiudice@cup.
Cynthia Zettl - 72442 cynthia.zettl@cup.

MS Students:

Xiaoxuan Wang - 77104 Xiaoxuan.Wang@campus.
Rosario Milazzo - 77127 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Diana Leidy Porras-Gonzalez Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Daniela Azedo - Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Sofia Lopes - Enable JavaScript to view protected content.


Gabriele Brandstäter - 72442 gabriele.brandstaeter@cup.


Thi My Hanh Ngo - 77178 Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Adrian Kromer - 77127 A.Kromer@campus.
Ghizal Niko - 77178 Ghizal.Niko@campus.
Laetitia Eller - 77178 l.eller@campus.


Erika Lynn Roberts MD Research Intern 2021
Evin Turan MD Research Intern 2021
Lamija Ibrahimpasic MD Research Intern 2021
Mengyao Xiong Master Student 2021
Dr. Friederike Adams Postdoc 2018-2021
Judith Möller PhD Student 2020-2021
Dr. Patrick Strack PhD Student 2017-2021
"Novel nano- and microparticulate formulations for industrial preclinical research“
Felix Sieber-Schäfer Student Assistant
Iris Kachel Master Student Intern 2020
Nina da Costa Huber MD Research Intern and Student Assistant 2020
Isabel Rummeny MD Research Intern 2020
Gemma Conte DAAD PhD student 2020
Edmar Filho Erasmus+ PhD student 2020
Dr. Aditi Mehta Postdoctoral Researcher and Group Leader 2016-2020
Anas Missaoui Erasmus + Intern, Master Student 2020
Remei Escudero Franch Erasmus+ Intern 2020
Adrian Kromer Bachelor thesis student 2020
Dr. Tobias Keil

PhD Student 2016-2020
"Formulation and Characterization of siRNA
containing Polyplexes as Dry Powder for Pulmonary Delivery“

Mara Weis MD Research Intern 2019-2020
Dr. Matteo Petrini

PhD Student 2016-2019
"Cationic and anionic phosphatidyldiglycerol-based thermosensitive liposomes for the targeted delivery of chemotherapeutics and immunoadjuvants"

Dr. Rima Kandil PhD Student 2016-2019
"T Cell Targeted Nanoparticles for Pulmonary siRNA Delivery as Novel Asthma Therampy“
Leonie von Brunn MD Student 2019
Dr. Gabriella Costabile Postdoctoral Researcher and Group Leader 2017-2019
Camilla Di Caprio Erasmus + Intern, Master Student 2018-2019
Johannes Bader Master Student 2018
Kristina Eiglmeier Master Student Intern 2016
Moses Andima PhD Rotation Student 2017-2018
Elena Dalle Vedove Erasmus + Intern 2017
Dan Feldmann, PhD

PhD Student 2013-2017
"Preparation And Utility Of Polymeric Nanoparticles For The Delivery Of Sirna As Cancer Therapy"

Steven Jones, PhD

PhD Student 2012-2017
"Folate Receptor Alpha Targeted Delivery And Characterization Of Polyethyleneimine-Graft-Polycaprolactone-Block-Poly(ethylene Glycol) Containing Sirna Micelleplexes"

Yuran Xie, PhD

PhD Student 2012-2017
"Transferrin Receptor Targeted Delivery Of Sirna For Gene Therapy"

Lorenz Isert, Pharmacist Pharmacy Intern 2015
Shu Wang, BS Undergraduate researcher 2015
Ying Li, MS

Master Student 2013-2015
"Folate Receptor Targeted Three-Layered Micelles and Hydrogels for Gene Delivery to Activvated Macrophages"

Barani Govindarajan, MS Lab Manager 2013-2015
Sara Movassaghian, PharmD, PhD Postdoc 2013-2015
Mariam Ghazi, Pharmacist Pharmacy Intern 2015
Bridget Vendittelli, PharmD PharmD Intern 2015
Marina Pittiglio, PharmD PharmD Intern 2015
Joshua Kovoor Undergraduate researcher 2015
Otavio Flausino Undergraduate researcher 2015
Leonardo Marques Undergraduate researcher 2015
Lena Gayar, BS Undergraduate researcher 2015
Mariam Mohammadi, Pharmacist Pharmacy Intern 2014-2015
Ahmed El Mahmoudi, MS Master Student Intern 2014-2015
Nicolette Moses, PhD PhD rotation student 2014
Vincent Lizzio, MD Medical Student Intern 2013-2014
Kathrin Gasteyer, MS, Pharmacist

Pharmacy Intern 2014
"Synthesis and nanoparticle formulation of SV7 as novel antibiotic drug"

Rima Kandil, Pharmacist Pharmacy Intern 2014
Jameson Tockstein, BS Undergraduate researcher 2014
Nicholas Kolderman, JD, MS Master Student Intern 2014
Tim Shae, BS Undergraduate researcher 2014
Venkatareddy Nadithe, PhD Postdoc 2011-2014
Ethan Brock, PhD PhD rotation student 2014
Teresa Kraus, Pharmacist Pharmacy Intern 2013-2014
Claudia Hildebrandt, MSc Master Student Intern 2013
Maha Elsayed, MS

Master Student 2011-2013
"Oligospermines For Non-Viral Sirna Delivery"

Roua Mounir, PharmD PharmD researcher
Vincent Corrand, Dipl Ing Undergraduate researcher 2013
Katherine VanDenburgh, BS Undergraduate researcher 2013
Rebecca Shapiro, BS Undergraduate researcher 2012
Danielle Batton, MS Undergraduate researcher 2012-2013
Rayna Rosati, PhD PhD rotation student
Na Hyung Kim, PhD Postdoc 2011-2013